Links for October 24, 2011: Blessed are the cheesmakers

by Josh Kimball

*School: I’m still a little sheepish about the fact that I do not have a single advanced degree. The Wisconsin Grilled Cheese Academy may help me change that. I’m thinking of doing my thesis on how using mayonnaise on a grilled cheese sandwich is an affront to god. And Jesus.

*Photgraphs: Katy Perry visits Occupy Wall Street (not nude). Apparently, Gaius Baltar is the only celebrity who cares to attend Occupy Wall Street in the nude? Also, apparently OWS has a theme song now, from Bill Fox, no less.

*Music: Oink: A Concept Album. (That’s not the real album title, just what it should have been named.) The real thing is One Pig by Matthew Herbert, and it’s an album made from sounds captured during the short, sad life of one little porker. [notcot]

*Testing: Can you match some fictional rock bands with the books in which they appeared? I did not do well. Probably because I am a dropout of the Wisconsin Grilled Cheese Academy. (Important note: I have not even been accepted into the Wisconsin Grilled Cheese Academy.)

*Books: Chicks With Guns. Paper and glue, the good, old-fashioned publishing industry, is our final bastion of intellectualism. [minusmanhattan]

*Business: Netflix and Groupon continue in their head-to-head battle to see who can fail more spectacularly.

*Glam: Rémy Tassou’s disco ball made out of cellphones has really inspired me. In fact, I am planting one thousand disposable razors in my frontyard right now, in an effort to make a “lawn beard.” Yes, a lawn beard MADE OUT OF RAZORS. [unconsumption]

*Mashups: Kanye’d by the bell. A tumblr. I assume inspired by LOLcats and heavy alcohol consumption.

*Local: Read on as The Deets blogger Ed Kohler continues his campaign against public financing of a new Vikings stadium. Worse than paying for a 21,000 car Arden Hills parking lot, I received an unwanted Yellow Pages on my stoop this week. In a plastic bag, no less.

*Twitter: Here are some tweets I like.

*Today’s links: F.

