I want an Instapaper for everything

by Josh Kimball

They other day on Twitter, I plaintively (well, kinda) begged the cosmos for something: Maybe this already exists, but I’d like a Tivo queue for cultural events. I want a media-agnostic way to “stack” stuff than I want to see/do.

I make lame jokes about a lot of things on that Twitter account, but here I was starting to articulate a real need I’ve been feeling. Having thought more about it over the past couple of days, I think a better way to say what I think I need is in this headline: I want an Instapaper for everything.

What does that mean? It means I’d like a tool that’s NOT first and foremost about sharing or displaying things (like Pinterest is, and like some dozens of social shopping sites are), but is instead a stripped-down tool focused on and optimized for ME. I want it to allow me to save and sort any kind of media – from granular articles like Instagram does now – to TV shows on Hulu, specific podcasts through the iTunes store, books through Amazon, to even live shows by bands playing at the Turf Club down the road.

I don’t even care if it recommends anything for me (though I assume someday, after this thing exists in a sufficiently usable format, people will want recommendations like that). Right now, I finish my podcast-informed commute and have half a dozen things I WANT to remember to look at: An album by Allen Toussaint. Some dumb fitness app. An old television series starring Alec Guinness.

But I am not one to make spreadsheets. And I don’t want to send myself dozens of disconnected emails of movies to remember to watch or albums to buy when I get the chance. And I don’t want to set up dead to-do lists where buying some milk sits next to seeking out, evaluating and purchasing (or not!) an app or an e-book.

Does this service exist already? Am I being dense? If anyone gets where I’m coming from, and if this does not exist, is there any way you can PLEASE wield your vast powers to make this happen? Please? Can you, for once, use your authority for GOOD?

