Links for November 16, 2011: Double shower head, single dog’s head and how to name your novel

by Josh Kimball

Running: I have begun running and I loathe myself for it. Utterly. (Close readers of the listenerd (ha) may recall having read a little something about this.) No one – and I mean NO ONE – captures the nouveau runner’s mix of addiction, wonder and self-hatred like Charlie Brooker. “I have been murdered and replaced with a suspicious facsimile. In running shoes.” Please read that. Furthermore, Charlie Brooker, much to his credit, is trying to plant the idea that the PACKAGE in this heart-rending John Lewis (a UK retail chain) advertisement contains a dog’s head. (It might.)

Showers: Rob Walker explores a thoroughly modern hotel signage phenomenon, one in which the hotel attempts to initiate a game of chicken with its guest to see who will eventually blink and ruin the entire planet by using/providing too many towels or using/offering incredible water pressure. Also, there is a HUGE dual shower head involved. HOWEVER, Mr. Walker does not answer the question of whether the dual-shower head thing was worth using.

Minneapolis: Minneapolis’ Craig Finn talks about the first time he heard Minneapolis’ The Replacements. All this story needs is Minneapolis’ Prince to make it complete and as obnoxious as is possible. And possibly a bike lane. (Maybe Prince is winter cyclo-commuting via it.)

Gimmicks: These musical business cards by Katharina Hölzl are incredibly cool. Watch the video or read more here.

Self-help: NPR helps you name your first novel. Mine was The Black Black Delphinium of Vatican City!

“News”: Google dropped a new music service today. I will play with it, though it is rare that I find people ready and willing to spend time and energy even entertaining the idea of sharing something with me via Google+.

Local: Normally, I’m not a fan of Bob Collins and NewsCut! (I listened to him on the radio once.) It’s entirely possible that he touches my shadow. HOWEVER, I enjoyed his Letter to the East Coast. “Where you come from, you don’t change as much as merely assimilate — you’ve been around for almost 400 years. Here, the culture is changing and watching it change is about the most exciting thing you can imagine.”

Graphics: Check out these classic albums, their covers reimagined. Whenever I reimagine my own cover, I am no longer bald. And am perhaps a bit thinner. And I have a more symmetrical face. Maybe less of a harsh jaw line. My bulbous forehead recedes. The pain in my right knee subsides. My posture improves significantly. My heart begins pumping more blood, through thick, wide veins, more quickly, delivering much-needed nutrients to all of my bodily tissues.

Among other things.

Today’s links: F. My queue overfloweth.

