2011: Some things I liked!

by Josh Kimball

Joy to the world! And hello! Below is a highly subjective and loosely collected group of things that I liked this year! I will warn you that virtually no “metrics” were used in the compilation of this list, except insofar as to trot them out, consider them, and reject their very right to exist.

Seeing, then, that this post is so much informed by my own personal taste, you may find it helpful to become better acquainted with me via this brief description from someone who knows me well. (Here’s a visual, too. Scary, right?)

So here it is! 2011! Things! Note that this is not at all meant to be a “top 100 list” or a “best of” list. It is not comprehensive. It is not systematic. It’s on the new side, but it’s not all, like, straight-up 2011 shit. OK? Can we drop the dogma and self-enforced rigidity for like 10 minutes here? The first part is stuff I liked from around the internet, the second half is stuff from my tumblr or twitter account or whatever else. That’s it! Things!

Tweet!: “Ryan Gosling probably shits his pants once or twice a week, just like every other normal man.” [Mark Leggett] Puerile!

Twitterers!:
Mark Leggett
Mrs. Rupert Pupkin
Your Aunt Diane
Rob Delaney
Peanut Free Mom
sucittaM
LaFix

Essay (you must be loco):
“I have been murdered and replaced with a suspicious facsimile. In running shoes” by Charlie Brooker

Blog!: Yo, Is This Racist?

Bloggers/writers I have appreciated:
Ben Miller at Liquidchroma
Tyler Hellard at Pop Loser
Diana Hong at Pocketmonsterd
Paul Ford (for one or two glorious weeks) at Ftrain Rob Walker at Design Observer and here
Everyone at Coudal always
Golden Fiddle forever

Apps: RunKeeper – Oh, how I hate thee, RunKeeper. How I loathe thee. (The only other couple apps I truly use on a daily basis are Tweetbot, the tumblr app and Words With Friends (I also hate the new system that allows people to buy cheats, though not as much as I hate RunKeeper).

Band!: Poliça.

Least favorite letter of the year!: ç

Song!: Trampled by Turtles covers “Where Is My Mind?

Attention! What follows is the self-service aisle!:

Listicle!: Life Lessons from Mr. Potato Head (This might be my favorite thing I wrote all year? Sappy?)

Tweet!: “Groinzo would be a weird (but good) name for a Muppet.” [link] Puerile!

Essays!: For some reason, I still like this fake Kickstarter project (a pitch for a collective work of interactive fiction) and this thing about Dirk Nowitzki’s hand signals.

Image!: Theodore, dinosaur.

Most terrifying personal experience!: An account.

If you’re curious, here are this blog’s top posts of 2011:
Famous People on Twitter (this is the most popular post every year and most individual days and weeks, as well — it is awful and I abhor its existence and myself for bringing it into this world)
Duluth Trading Company’s Ballroom Jeans commercial

Finally! Overall grades for the year:
Internet – F
Listenerd – F